Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


Head of School Search

Marshall School is conducting a search for its next Head of School.

The Board of Trustees has convened a Search Committee of trustees, administrators, faculty, parents, and alumni to collaborate with Educational Directions Inc., a search firm dedicated to aligning institutional aspirations with leadership that genuinely resonates.

On this page, you will find the most up-to-date information regarding steps toward our school's next exciting chapter.

In order to protect the confidentiality of each candidate, the identities of only the top three finalists will be released to the Hilltopper community prior to each participating in a campus visit.


About Educational Directions, Inc.

The Marshall School Board of Trustees has retained Educational Directions Inc. for this endeavor; the search firm stands out in its commitment to fostering educational excellence, and in its experience matching dedicated leaders to schools like ours.

Founded in 1986, and working exclusively with independent schools, Educational Directions (EduDx) is a nationally recognized consulting firm and leader in searches for heads of school and administrator positions.

Image of blue and orange business logo for Educational Directions.

Our search consultant, Dr. John Watson, has worked with independent schools in governance, leadership development, and executive searches through Educational Directions, Inc. since 2017.

Dr. Watson began his independent school career at Breck School (MN) as co-chair of the Visual and Performing Arts Department. From 1992-2002, he served as Assistant Head and Academic Dean in three boarding schools; Darrow School (NY), Peddie School (NJ), and Cheshire Academy (CT). He then served as Head of School at West Nottingham Academy (MD), a boarding and day school founded in 1744 from 2002-2012, and Seacrest Country Day School (FL) from 2012-2017.

With an exceptional background and wide experience with independent schools, Dr. Watson brings a breadth of knowledge to our search.

Search Committee Members

Nels Ojard '95, Board President
Laura Mullen '97, Board Vice-President
David Pollard '92, Board Treasurer
Regina Seabrook ‘92, Trustee
Tracy Morton, Trustee
Matthew Whittaker ‘02, Forest School Principal
Scott Kylander-Johnson ‘90, Middle School Teacher
Dr. Greg Rohde, Upper School Teacher
Jennifer Berry, Director of Advancement

Communication from the Board


Frequently Asked Questions